EKG - the electroacoustic duo of Kyle Bruckmann (oboe/English horn, electronics) and Ernst Karel (currently analog electronics) - formed in the late 1990s out of the foment of Chicago's crossdisciplinary experimental music community. They have worked long-distance since 2003, with Bruckmann in Oakland and Karel now in Cambridge. Five acclaimed recordings reveal elements of a consistent aesthetic: an intersection of plaintive acoustic counterpoint with the rich, unstable textures of analog synthesis; careful attention to potential energy, fragility, and nuance; and collaborative composition via intertwining strategies of improvisation, modular notation, and editing. .

They have collaborated, individually and together, with artists from disparate sectors of contemporary music, art, and vilm. EKG's music has been featured in video works premiered at Frankfurt Positionen and the Whitney Biennial. In 2007, they began a long-term exploration of notated repertoire with a radical rendition of Morton Feldman's Oboe and Orchestra featuring Karel's analog electronic realization of the orchestral score.

As EKG, they have been joined on stage by the Jeffrey Allport-Tim Olive duo, Thomas Ankersmit, Nicole Bindler, Alessandro Bosetti, Ben Bracken, Audrey Chen, Chris Cooper, Chris Heenan, Giuseppe Ielasi, Matt Ingalls, Kurt Johnson, Larry Marotta, Bhob Rainey, Vic Rawlings, and David Rothbaum. Their music has been featured in video work by Amie Siegel, and by Rebecca Baron and Doug Goodwin. Individually, Bruckmann and Karel's extensive collaborative credits include Josh Abrams, Jim Baker, Jeb Bishop, Olivia Block, Blowhole, Alessandro Bosetti, Anthony Braxton, Gust Burns, Cheer-Accident, Bobby Conn, Damon and Naomi, Ernesto Diaz-Infante, Djalma Primordial Science, Tom Djll, Kevin Drumm, Gunda Gottschalk, Lance Grabmiller, Philip Greenlief, David Grubbs, Boris Hauf, Andy Hayleck, Steven Hess, Robbie Hunsinger, Bonnie Jones, Greg Kelley, Annette Krebs, Fred Lonberg-Holm, Bob Marsh, Helen Mirra, Molecules, My Name is Rar-Rar, Toshimaru Nakamura, Tatsuya Nakatani, Negativland, Oxbow, Jeff Parker, Dan Plonsey, Polwechsel, Gert-Jan Prins, Key Ransone, Gino Robair, Frank Rosaly, Scott Rosenberg, Aiko Shimada, John Shiurba, Jason Soliday, Karen Stackpole, TV Pow, Ken Vandermark, Weasel Walter, Jack Wright, Otomo Yoshihide, and Michael Zerang.

More information on Kyle Bruckmann.

More information on Ernst Karel.

site design by crank satori